VENTURE

Home » Uncategorized » Day 25 – oh what a day it was!

Day 25 – oh what a day it was!

Categories

Hours & Info

1-202-555-1212
Lunch: 11am - 2pm
Dinner: M-Th 5pm - 11pm, Fri-Sat:5pm - 1am

We left St. Anne des Monts at 8:20. As soon as we left the harbour we were met with huge swells and I started to feel queezy. Laying in the princess berth was still too high so I shimmied my way onto the floor. Within the next hour I was hugging the porcelain bowl and praying someone would put me out of my misery. I asked larry if we could turn around, but we are already behind schedule and we needed to make progress.

At about 2 pm, while still in my happy place lying on the bathroom floor, I could tell that something had changed and that the swells were now behind us. Larry had turned the boat around and was heading into Mont Louis. He said the swells were about 6 feet (felt like 30 feet) and very steep and close together. He was unable (and I say he because I’m still horizontal at this point, praying for god to take me) to ride the waves; the boat was having to punch through them. Mont Louis is just a cove really. There is a dock but it was full of fishing boats. No room at the inn for us. Vata was anchored in the cove already; they are towing a dingy with an engine on it. I wonder how they made out in the waves towing that.

Anyhow, it wasn’t a very restful night. With no protection from the wind or swell, the boat rocked and rolled all night long. At 8 pm larry put one of those seasick patches behind my ear. That really knocked me flat. Those things are very strong. We woke up at 5:30 when a wave hit us broadside. We decided to head out straight away. The winds were suppose to be at 35 kts and going in the same direction, but the wind never got over 10 kts today. There were still swells, but I managed them better today, in between sleeping. You can bet I sure was questioning myself, asking what the hell am I doing, but am feeling better today.

We arrived at Riviere au Renard at 2 pm. We will spend the night at anchor and then head into the dock tomorrow to do laundry, shower and some groceries.

Until next time xo


2 Comments

  1. Gigi says:

    Oh my dear Michelle and Larry when I read posts like this I wish you would be happy playing with a plastic boat in the tub! But then where’s the adventure in that right! Stay safe xoxo hugs

Leave a comment